Just because you’re not eating meat doesn’t mean you’re eating right. For a healthy vegetarian or vegan diet, make sure you avoid these 12 pitfalls. Vegans do not eat meat products of any kind including eggs, dairy products, or processed foods containing these or other animal-derived ingredients such as gelatin, which comes from animal collagen.
Vitamin D needs can be met via the human body’s own generation upon sufficient and sensible exposure to ultraviolet light in sunlight. Products including milk, soy milk and cereal grains may be fortified to provide a source of Vitamin D. For those who do not get adequate sun exposure or food sources, Vitamin D supplementation may be necessary. Pollo-pescetarianism, which includes poultry and fish, or “white meat” only. Parshwanatha founded Jain vegetarianism in 9th century BCE, which is widely considered to be the earliest form of planned vegetarian diet.
Or if meat is included alongside a breakfast dish, you may ask for a fruit or vegetable as a side instead. Some may even be able to alter a meal to make it vegetarian if you ask. Gelatin is derived from animal collagen, and often found in processed foods such as fruit snacks, marshmallows, and Jell-O. MEDITERRANEAN/Getty ImagesWe include products we think are useful for our readers. If you buy through links on this page, we may earn a small commission.
Vegetarian diets offer lower levels of saturated fat, cholesterol and animal protein, and higher levels of carbohydrates, fibre, magnesium, potassium, folate, and antioxidants such as vitamins C and E and phytochemicals. It may also include abstaining from eating all by-products of animal slaughter. A balanced vegetarian diet with nutritious foods like produce, grains, healthy fats and plant-based protein may offer several benefits, but it may increase your risk of nutritional deficiencies if poorly planned. A vegan diet is the most restrictive form of vegetarianism because it bars meat, poultry, fish, eggs, dairy and any other animal products. If you’re looking to eat more fruits and vegetables and potentially improve your health, a vegetarian diet may be worth trying.
Most vegetarians avoid meat, poultry and fish, though some also restrict eggs, dairy and other animal products. People following this diet eat mostly plant-based foods but may occasionally include meat, dairy, eggs, poultry, and fish in small amounts. Alacto-vegetarianis used to describe a type of vegetarian who does not eat eggs but does eat dairy products.Ovo-vegetarian refers to people who do not eat meat or dairy products but do eat eggs. Ovo-vegetarians do not consume any dairy products, including milk, butter, cream, yogurt, and cheese.
Adventists are well known for presenting a health message that recommends vegetarianism and expects adherence to the kosher laws in Leviticus 11. Obedience to these laws means abstinence from pork, shellfish, and other animals proscribed as “unclean”. The church discourages its members from consuming alcoholic beverages, tobacco or illegal drugs . In addition, some Adventists avoid coffee, tea, cola, and other beverages containing caffeine. At a much later time, the Bible Christian Church founded by Reverend William Cowherd in 1809 followed a vegetarian diet.